Girl’s Night

So on my way home from school tonight (yes, it was evening, I really have to learn to leave early on Fridays) I decided to screw grading papers (my original plan) and have a girl’s night.  By myself.  In less you count Bowie, which I guess you could cuz he did get fixed and he is kind of a girl.

So what does my “Girl’s Night” include you ask?  Chinese food from the one and only (literally here in Zebulon) Good Taste Chinese Food, sweat pants, a warm blanket, movies (Sex and the City, Shag, Under the Tuscan Sun) and some kind of chocolate (maybe the cheesecake I bought for Mike).  Oh and my dog curled up at my feet.

So we “celebrated” Valentine’s day today.  We aren’t suppose to have parties so it was short and sweet.  And I wouldn’t have it any other way, 20 kids with down time and sugar?  No thank you!  Anyway one of the best things about being a teacher is the gifts.  Even if some of them are weird.  I got a flower, a candle, tons of candy, and a giant pencil (from one of my trouble makers).  Mike even got some candy.  I also had a conversation with one of my students about “tricking” a lock and how he would get his mom’s gun if someone broke into his house.  Sometimes work breaks my heart.  I did get hugs from two of my “tough” boys, so I guess it was a good day.  I try not to force hugs on the kids but it always makes me feel better when they give me one.  I don’t think I could teach and not get the random hug.  Even if the kid has ringworm (yes, ringworm).  So far the rest of my class hasn’t gotten it yet.  We’ll keep praying that’s the case.  The joys of being an elementary school teacher!

2 Responses to “Girl’s Night”

  1. For our Valentine’s day your old in-laws had a nice steak dinner at our local restaurant. It was good and besides it was one less day I had to cook! I’m glad that you can hug your kids. I didn’t know if teachers still were allowed to do that. Keep up the good work!! Still missing you !!

  2. this is twice you’ve blogged now….I could get used to this.

    Girls Night….so not fair. I’m here with all boys and you’re there with all boys. Man, I miss our Girls Days where we’d go shopping and get something to eat. I miss YOU so much. I thought it would get easier as time goes on, but……it really doesn’t. I miss you as much now as I did the day I left you and got in that stupid rental truck and had to sit on the floor all the way home!

    And I would have given anything to have a teacher like you Rae…..You are a FABULOUS teacher and those kids are damnlucky to ahve you! Yes, even the Ringworm Kid.

    Blog more!!!! I miss you and love you so much.

    and Valentines Day sucks

Leave a comment